Newbie to gluten free bread making

As part of plastic free July I decided to try making my own bread. I have made many loaves of bread before but this is the first time I tried a gluten free loaf that wasn’t a pre-packaged mix, of which I have always found tasted horrible anyway. Bread has been on my list of things to try for a while but I kept putting it off because I was scared about the thought of no elasticity and also because xanthan gum had a scary sounding name.

Off I went to the shop to purchase this foreign ingredient and returned home armed with some Doves Farm xanthan gum. They have recently brought out their Freee range which I really like. As they also produce many other baking products it makes it quick to distinguish what is gluten free which, according to their website, was one of the aims of the new packaging.

I decided that as a newbie I would just use the recipe on the back of the packet to keep things simple. It had all of the usual ingredients that you would expect in bread and a similar procedure. I also bought a tin of yeast to try instead of the individual sachets as we get through a lot of as I make pizza bases regularly. Also being a tin will help cut back on plastic usage, and it used in exactly the same way.

Overall the final product was a little on the dense side and did take quite a while to turn to crispy toast. But the taste was good and at less than £1.50 per loaf this is definitely something I will try again when it my loaf runs out. I will try  leaving it longer to rise as our house wasn’t particularly warm when I first tried this.

bread1bread2

Ingredients

  • 500g gluten free flour
  • 2tsp of xanthan gum
  • 1tsp quick yeast
  • 1tsp sugar
  • 1tsp salt
  • 2tbsp oil
  • 500ml warm water

 

Method

  1. Mix flour, sugar, salt and yeast together. Add warm and beat well
  2. Mix in oil and transfer to a loaf tin
  3. Leave to rise in a warm area until doubled inside or in the fridge overnight
  4. Bake at 200 degrees/180 fan for 50-55 minutes or until base sounds hollow when tapped
Leave a Reply

